At Bathurst, Pentecost is the final series of Sunday services before our Wednesday evening events during July/August. Pentecost traditionally includes our Solstice and Pride Services. It gives us an opportunity to visit a number of issues that might not fit into a more traditionally-themed series.

The final service in this series was:

  • Sun, June 26 - Pentecost VI
    Pride Sunday - Festival of St. John the Baptist
    Baptism of Margot
    Ralph Carl Wushke

The services in this series have been:

  • Sun, June 19 - Pentecost V
    The Summer Solstice Service
    Memorial Service for the Victims in Orlando
    8:00 am on the beach opposite 82 Hubbard Ave.
    Ralph Carl Wushke
    (no service in the TSP chapel)

  • Sun, June 12 - Pentecost IV
    Worship as at CAMH
    The CAMH Worship Team

  • Sun, June 5 - Pentecost III
    The Doctrine of Discovery
    Peter Haresnape, CPT

  • Sun, May 29 - Pentecost II
    Empowerment: Speaking of Diversity
    Aziza Miller, Howard Williams, Val Kalende

  • Sun, May 22 - Pentecost I
    Working with the SCM
    Sarah Mikhaiel
    General Secretary, SCM Canada

  • Sun, May 15 - Pentecost
    Project Hope
    Hakim Sabbah, Director, Project Hope (Nablus)

Easter stories: A Celebration of New Life

The services in this series were:

  • Sun, May 8 - Easter VII
    Spring Retreat at Crieff Hills
    (no service in the TSP chapel)

  • Sun, May 1 - Easter VI
    The Communion on the Beach (John 21)
    Ralph Carl Wushke

  • Sun, Apr 24 - Easter V
    Spirituality and Mental Health
    Nazila Isgandarova, D.Min, RSW,
    Spiritual Care Provider, CAMH

  • Sun, Apr 17 - Easter IV
    The Craddock Lecture
    A joint service with Bloor St. United Church
    Marie Wilson, TRC Commissioner
    (no service in the TSP chapel)

  • Sun, Apr 10 - Easter III
    Doubting Thomas (John 20)
    Sharon Goodier

  • Sun, Apr 3 - Easter II
    The Road to Emmaus (Luke 24)
    Ralph Carl Wushke

  • Sun, Mar 27 - Easter Sunday
    Easter Breakfast at 10:00 am, service at 10:30
    Ralph Carl Wushke

Latin America: History – Spirituality – Liberation

Inspired in part by Ralph Carl Wushke’s four month sabbatical in Cuba in 2015, the Bathurst Lenten worship series engaged with Latin American expressions of gospel and culture, including Canadian church & society connections there.

The gospel for the second Sunday of Lent provided an evocative start point for this series.
“O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, killing the prophets…how often I would have gathered your children together..” (Luke 13:24).

Services in this series included:

  • Sun, Mar 20 - Palm Sunday
    Latin America’s Gift: Theology of Liberation
    Reg McQuaid

  • Sun, Mar 13 - Lent V
    Cuba: Church & Society II
    Ralph Carl Wushke

  • Sun, Mar 6 - Lent IV
    Cuba: Church & Society I
    Reinerio Arce

  • Sun, Feb 28 - Lent III
    Bathurst Annual General Meeting with a Latin Flavour

  • Sun, Feb 21 - Lent II
    Partnering in Latin America: United Church of Canada
    Jim Hodgson

  • Sun, Feb 14 - Lent I
    The Mapuche People of Chile: Indigenous Struggle
    Marie Elena Oliva

The Tree of Ruth

In Matthew's genealogy of Jesus, only four women are mentioned.

Each of them, through initiative, heroism and determination, contributed to the messianic line and set the pattern for Jesus’ family tree.

Tamar, at risk of death, ensured the messianic line through her sons; through Rabab’s courage Israel entered the promised land; through Ruth’s unflinching loyalty to Naomi she and Boaz became great grandparents of David the king; through Bathsheba’s courageous intervention the Davidic throne passed to Solomon.

In Epiphany, we looked at the lives and stories of these women, who are heroines of the faith and whose stories call for study and celebration.

Services in this series included:
  • Sun, Feb 7
    Bathsheba
    Ralph Carl Wushke

  • Sun, Jan 31
    Joint service with Trinity-St. Paul's
    The Holy Land: Israel - Palestine
    Robert Mssoud

  • Sun, Jan 24
    Ruth
    Frances Combs

  • Sun, Jan 17
    Rahab
    Ralph Carl Wushke

  • Sun, Jan 10
    Tamar
    Judi McCallum