Ideas at Bathurst

 

Quetico Reflection by Vivian East

Summer is a time to pause for reflection, to turn for a moment from the media landscape of blink-and-you-miss-it news cycles, and to explore some big ideas with people who are passionate about them.

We aimed to bring a bit of that feeling to our summer series on Wednesday evenings. Our speakers shared a thinker, writer or book that sparked their interest.

The summer services are held at College Street United Church, at the north-west corner of College and Bathurst. We start with a potluck supper sharp at 6:00 p.m., followed by an informal service at 7:00 in the air-conditioned parlour.

The Ideas at Bathurst services: 

  • Wednesday, August 28
    Meister Eckhart
    Ken McEvoy

  • Wednesday, August 21
    Barbara Kingsolver’s Unsheltered
    Ulla Weimann and Frances Combs

  • Wednesday, August 14
    Poetry of Resistance: readings from various poets, Canadian and American
    Sharon Goodier
  • Wednesday, August 7
    Rudolf Steiner, Anthroposophy, and Waldorf Education.
    Kathryn Humphrey

  • Wednesday, July 31
    Mahatma Gandhi
    Reg McQuaid

  • Wednesday, July 24
    Conflict Resolution
    Guest Speaker: Cathy Stewart, of Credence & Co.

  • Wednesday, July 24
    Conflict Resolution
    Guest Speaker: Cathy Stewart, of Credence & Co.

  • Wednesday, July 17
    Jean Vanier: Canada's Humble Philospher
    Judi McCallum

  • Wednesday, July 10
    Robin Wall Kimmerer and Gayla Trail
    Lindsay Tyler

 

 

Easter and Pentecost

 

tabitha

 

Through our Easter and Pentecost services, we looked at the hidden women of the Bible. In addition, in June, there was a baptism, and our traditional Pride and Summer Solstice services.

The services in this series included:

  • Sunday, June 30
    Pentecost III - Pride Sunday
    Caro Ibrahim
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, June 23
    Pentecost II
    Solstice Service
    8:00 am, on the beach near Hubbard and McLean

  • Sunday, June 16
    Pentecost I
    Congregational Meeting
    10:30 am, Trinity St. Paul's, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, June 9
    Pentecost
    The baptism of Joaquin Fernando Barrios Miller
    Christine Smaller
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, June 2
    Easter VII - Migrant Workers
    Reg McQuaid
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, May 26
    Easter VI
    Service led by the CAMH team
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, May 19
    Easter V
    Memory of Her - A personal midrash on Mark 14:2-9
    Shirley Endicott
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, May 12
    Easter IV - Tabitha
    Christine Smaller
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, May 5
    Crieff Hills Retreat

  • Sunday, April 28
    Congregational Meeting
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.


Lent

This Lent we used our services to look at the stories from the last week of Jesus' life. What do these stories tell us today? Are they true, or are they symbolic? What do they mean?

Services in this series included:
  • Sunday, April 21
    Easter
    Christine Smaller
    10:30 am, Trinity St. Paul's, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, April 14
    The Inbetween
    Christine Smaller
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, April 7
    Cleansing the Temple ("Messy Church")
    Lindsay Tyler
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, March 31
    The Last Supper
    Ken McEvoy
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, March 24
    What does Lent have to do with anything, anyway?
    Exploring how the ancient practice of Prayer, Fasting and Almsgiving might provide glimpses of hope and healing in our time and place.
    Christine Smaller
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, March 17
    Our Stories, Ourselves
    Reg McQuaid, Pat Douglas, Shirley Endicott
    10:30 am, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.

  • Sunday, March 10
    Bathurst Annual General Meeting
    10:30 am EDT, TSP Chapel, 427 Bloor St. W.